An Image Shared with Me of 1st Lt. John Berry, 65th NY

This is a photo shared with me by Scott Valentine of Military Images magazine after he purchased this CDV. Capt. Frederick Volk references Lt. John Berry, 1st Lieutenant of Co, F, 65th NY Volunteers, in his diary, so he is mentioned in No Flinching from Fire. Scott was kind enough to buy a copy of the book, and I was thrilled to get an image of him, of course. Killed in Upton’s Assault at Spotsylvania on June 10th, 1864, Berry’s body was never found and identified. He is likely buried in an unknown grave at Fredericksburg National Cemetery, where my good friend Larry Fata visited this summer. I love this image, as it helps make human the horrible carnage of the Civil War.

Published by 65th NY Guy

I am a high school history teacher in my 34th year of teaching. I have been studying the 65th NY Infantry, my great-great grandfather's regiment, since 1993. After 8 years of writing, I recently finally published my history of the regiment, "No Flinching From Fire." I also coach cross country and track and field, and I have a wife and two daughters.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started